I promised, you promised, we promised 

Every so often something occurs in my mostly autonomous, hopefully integral life, that causes me to go on a rant with the intention of bettering society. Rants of the past that can be found on Mindless Peace include; primal behaviors of people at the gym and the disgrace of man buns. As of lately I feel prompted to preach on promises.

Call me crazy being 22 in 2015 but I still believe in respect and honor. I believe words matter, almost as much as the actions that follow. I think I’m so adamant about the things people say and the vows we make is because before I cared for Christ I was a liar, I lied like it was my job and I loved it. Words are my gift and before I realized that gift was God-given I used them as a curse not a blessing. I enjoyed being persuasive in all the wrong ways, I found it remarkably easy to convince people of things that weren’t true. Fast forward to today, I now realize the weighted impact of the words we speak and the power in how we wield them. 

Respect and honor like they say in the movie 300. I live by that the best I can. Once upon a time I was introduced to the pinky promise, although I still think the gesture is lame the value of a promise is immeasurable, at least to me. This is why I say upon every proposal of a pinky promise; “are you sure?” Usually the response is yes and then I say; “do not make promises you can’t keep.” Then, more often than not, the promise is broken despite my warning. The aftermath is a personal struggle for me to not lose all respect. Of course I believe in forgiveness, I need it deeply so I try to give it dearly. Especially since I’ve been guilty of breaking promises, despite the fact that I despise it so very much. Truthfully, I try never to make them because they can be a strain to maintain. I can’t even recall ones I may have broken. However, it’s no trouble at all for me to remember promises made to me that others have shattered. 

Since this is primarily my emotional ranting, I’d like to give the topic some value by including what God says about honor: 

Ecclesiastes 5:4-5: When you vow a vow to God, do not delay paying it, for he has no pleasure in fools. Pay what you vow. It is better that you should not vow than that you should vow and not pay.

Numbers 30:2: When a man makes a vow to the Lord or takes an oath to obligate himself by a pledge, he must not break his word but must do everything he said.

Deuteronomy 23:21-23: If you make a vow to the Lord your God, do not be slow to pay it,for the Lord your God will certainly demand it of you and you will be guilty of sin. But if you refrain from making a vow, you will not be guilty. Whatever your lips utter you must be sure to do, because you made your vow freely to the Lord your God with your own mouth.

Here’s the thing, promises are serious and they’re seriously hard to keep. That’s why I almost never make them. As a former full-time liar I’ve seen the damage words can do and now I highly value honesty. Promise breaking is the opposite of that. This article was not intended as a persuasion to get people to say nicer things or promise more often, it’s written as a plea for people to say what they mean. That and only that. Matthew 5:37. Straight up honestly. Brutal truth is much preferred over a comforting lie.

These woods are lovely, dark and deep,
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep-Robert Frost

.

P.S. Just in case someone has read this and scoffed at the hypocrisy of my advocacy for honesty since I’ve broken a promise or twelve with them. Please know I’m unaware and I would love for it to be brought to my attention so that I can properly apologize. Thanx for reading!

One thought on “I promised, you promised, we promised 

Leave a Reply

